14. 07. 2017 - 17. 09. 2017
Symphony of Resonances

Tisk

Ears (Attica, 1 BC–400 AD), courtesy Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel, photo: Ute Brunel; and graphic design from GORN Magazine, 1923, courtesy Central Research Library of the Theatre Union, Moscow .
Image design, Zbynek Baladran, 2017

Symphony of Resonances von O+A (Bruce Odland/Sam Auinger)

14. Juli 2017
Rotunde und Galeriuspalast, Thessaloniki

15. Juli – 17. September 2017
Staatliches Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Thessaloniki

Arseni Awraamows Symphonie der Sirenen (1919–1923) ist eine Klanglegende, ein gigantisches öffentliches Ereignis, das sich unmöglich aufzeichnen oder übertragen ließ. Textpartituren und einige Artikel, die ihr Schöpfer – ein exzentrischer Autor, Komponist, Forscher und Erfinder – verfasst hat, sind alles, was davon übrig blieb. Symphonie der Sirenen ist eine geschönte Übersetzung des ursprünglichen Titels Symphonie für Fabriksirenen, der sich auf dampfbetriebene Zeitmesser aus dem modernen Industriezeitalter bezieht. Awraamow war fasziniert vom Lärm der Zukunft und setzte sämtliche, ihm zugänglichen „modernen“ Klänge ein, von Kriegsschiffen, Artillerie, Kanonen, über Lokomotiven bis hin zu Flugzeugen, die ganze Städte in enorme Musikinstrumente bzw. gigantische Orchester verwandelten, die er selbst von Telegrafenmasten aus dirigierte. Die Symphonie wurde zur Feier der Oktoberrevolution von 1917 konzipiert und sollte so viele „moderne“ Klänge wie möglich mit Leidenschaft erzeugen.

Heute entscheiden wir uns für ein zuhören. Nahezu einhundert Jahre später reflektieren O+A über Awraamows futuristische Klänge, wie sie der Gegenwart anverwandelt sind, indem wir unseren von Maschinen beherrschten Klanglandschaften zuhören und sie stimmen. Das Interesse an der Geschichte von Lärm/Klang und Stille ist Teil der Praxis dieser Künstler, die die Klangorte von Thessaloniki und ihre Geräuschkulisse und Lautspähren erforschten. Ihre Symphony of Resonances besteht aus drei Teilen.

Symphony of Resonances von O+A
Freitag, 14. Juli 2017
16–22 Uhr, Rotunde und Galeriuspalast, Thessaloniki

Prelude, Tuning the Ruins
Auf dem Navarino Platz, wo römische Ruinen von dicht gepackten, eng stehenden Wohnblöcken aus den 1960er und 1970er Jahren umgeben sind, findet das Präludium statt. O+A setzen diese gebaute Umgebung als ihren „Resonanzraum“ ein und aktivieren so die Ruinen des Galeriuspalastes mit den Geräuschen des heutigen Thessaloniki, die durch ihre „Stimmröhre“ auf harmonische Proportionen reduziert werden. Wir hören die harmonisch abgestimmten „modernen“ Laute: Schallwellen vom Verkehr, von Flugzeugen, Motorrädern und dem ganzen Gewimmel an Aktivitäten, das heutige Großstädte erzeugen.
Ton – Thomas Koch

Requiem for the Extraction Economy
Performance für Sopran-, Mezzosopran-, Tenor- und Bass-Solostimmen, sowie dem Achtkanal-Orchester der Städte
21 Uhr, Rotunde des Galerius
Die Rotunde ist eines der wenigen Gebäude, die den großen Brand von Thessaloniki im Jahr 1917 nahezu unbeschadet überstanden haben. Sie diente bereits als Mausoleum, als Kirche und als Moschee und ist exemplarisch geeignet, die menschliche Stimme nachklingen zu lassen, sei es im Gesang oder im Skandieren von heiligen Texten. In diesem Raum wird sich das Spektrum von vier genau aufeinander abgestimmter und unverstärkter menschlicher Stimmen einen dramatischen Kampf mit den aufgezeichneten Resonanzen der Stadt liefern.
Vokalisten: Sarah Chalfy – Sopran, Hai-Ting Chinn – Mezzosopran, Christopher Sokolowski – Tenor, Mark Sans Uhleman – Bass. Ton – Mark Fuller
Orchester der Städte – Sam Auinger, Dirigent – Bruce Odland

15. Juli – 17. September 2017
Coda
Staatliches Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Thessaloniki
Die Coda wird im Staatlichen Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst gespielt, wo die Sammlung Costakis der russischen Avantgardekunst beheimatet ist, eines der bemerkenswertesten Beispiele von Migrationen der Moderne. Aufgebaut wurde die Sammlung von George Costakis zu einem Zeitpunkt, da die Avantgarde in der Sowjetunion verboten war. Teil der Sammlung ist seltenes Archivmaterial zu den musikalischen Experimenten der Avantgardekünstler. Die Coda von O+A wird bis zum 17. September in dem Museumsraum nachhallen, der Tag an dem die Ausstellung der documenta 14 in Kassel endet.

Über O+A
Seit dreißig Jahren lauschen O+A den Klängen der Moderne in Städten um die ganze Welt und zeichnen diese auf. Sie sind der Überzeugung, dass wir uns nicht verstehen werden, ehe wir nicht unseren Lärm verstehen. In den 1990er Jahren begannen sie „Stimmröhren“ (tuning tubes) zu verwenden, um die Laute der Stadt in Harmonien zu transformieren und so musikalische Informationen in den Klängen des Alltags aufzuspüren. Bald wurde ihnen bewusst, dass sie der Musik des Menschenschwarms lauschen, den Rhythmen des Berufsverkehrs und dem Pulsschlag der Wirtschaft.

Kuratoren: Elena Sorokina und Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung
Organisation
documenta 14 | Stadtgemeinde Thessaloniki – Abteilung für Kultur und Tourismus | Staatliches Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst | Artecitya, Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki | Artecitya, Helexpo | ArtBOX Creative Arts Management

Unterstützt wird dieses Programm von
General Directorate of Antiquities and Cultural Heritage – Ephorate of Antiquities, Thessaloniki | Bundeskanzleramt Österreich | Kulturland Oberösterreich | Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation (MAAF) | Programm Kreatives Europa, Europäische Kommission

14. 07. 2017 - 17. 09. 2017
Symphony of Resonances

Tisk

Ears (Attica, 1 BC–400 AD), courtesy Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel, photo: Ute Brunel; and graphic design from GORN Magazine, 1923, courtesy Central Research Library of the Theatre Union, Moscow .
Image design, Zbynek Baladran, 2017

Symphony of Resonances
by O+A (Bruce Odland / Sam Auinger)

July 14, 2017
Rotunda and Palace of Galerius, Thessaloniki
July 15–September 17, 2017
State Museum of Contemporary Art, Thessaloniki

Arseny Avraamov’s Symphony of Sirens (1919–1923) is a sonic legend, a gigantic public event that was impossible to record or to transmit. Text scores and some articles by its creator—an eccentric author, composer, researcher, and inventor—are all that remain. Symphony of Sirens is a beautified translation, the original title, Symphony of Factory Horns, refers to the steam powered timekeepers of the modern industrial age. Fascinated by the noises of the future, Avraamov employed all of the “modern” sounds available to him—military boats, artillery, guns, locomotives, and hydroplanes—which transformed entire cities into enormous musical instruments or gigantic orchestras conducted by Avraamov from telegraph poles. The symphony was conceived to celebrate the 1917 October Revolution, passionately producing as much “modern” sound as possible.

Today, we choose to listen. Almost one hundred years later, O+A reflects upon Avraamov’s sounds of the future, transformed into the present by listening to our machine-dominated soundscapes and tuning them. Interested in the history of noise and silence as part of their practice, the artists research the sonic sites of Thessaloniki and its noise and soundscapes. Their Symphony of Resonances consists of three parts.

Friday July 14, 2017
4–10 pm, Rotunda and Palace of Galerius
Thessaloniki

Prelude, Tuning the Ruins
Taking place in Navarino Square, where Roman ruins are tightly surrounded by densely packed 1960s and 1970s apartment blocks, A+O use this built environment as their “resonating chamber,” activating the ruins of the Palace of Galerius with the sounds of today’s Thessaloniki, reduced to harmonic proportions through their “tuning tube.” We listen to harmonically tuned “modern” noises—sound waves from traffic, jets, motorcycles, the entire swarm of activity produced by large cities today.
Sound – Thomas Koch

Friday July 14, 2017
Requiem for the Extraction Economy
Performance for soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor and bass soloists, and the eight-channel Orchestra of Cities
9 pm, Rotunda of Galerius

The Rotunda is one of a few buildings that remained intact after Thessaloniki was destroyed by fire in 1917. Having been used as a mausoleum, a church, and a mosque, it is ideally suited for the resonance of the human voice—chanting or in song. The scale of four perfectly matched unamplified human voices within this space will be in a dramatic struggle with the recorded resonances of the city.
Singers – Sarah Chalfy – soprano, Hai-Ting Chinn – mezzo-soprano, Christopher Sokolowski – tenor, Mark Sans Uhleman – bass.
Sound – Mark Fuller
Orchestra of Cities – Sam Auinger, Conductor – Bruce Odland

July 15–September 17, 2017
Coda
by O+A
State Museum of Contemporary Art, Thessaloniki
Coda will be played at the State Museum of Contemporary Art, which holds the Costakis Collection of works from the Russian avant-garde, one of the most remarkable examples of the migration of modernism. Assembled by George Costakis at a time when avant-garde was outlawed in Russia, the collection includes rare archival material on musical experiments of the avant-garde artists. O+A’s Coda will resonate in museum’s space until September 17th, the closing date of documenta 14 in Kassel.

About O+A (Bruce Odland / Sam Auinger)
O+A have been listening to and recording the sounds of modernity in cities around the world for thirty years. They believe that we will not understand ourselves until we understand our noise. In the 1990s they began using “tuning tubes” to transform city noise into harmony, and find musical information in the sounds of daily life. They soon realized that they were listening to the music of the human hive, the rhythms of rush hours, the pulse of the economy.

Curated by Elena Sorokina and Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung
Organization
documenta 14 | City of Thessaloniki – Department of Culture and Tourism | State Museum of Contemporary Art | Artecitya by Goethe-Institut Thessaloniki | Artecitya by Helexpo | ArtBOX Creative Arts Management

Support
General Directorate of Antiquities and Cultural Heritage |– Ephorate of Antiquities, Thessaloniki | Bundeskanzleramt Österreich | Kulturland Oberösterreich | Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation (MAAF) | Creative Europe program from the European Commission